Stanford Networking Seminar

12:15PM, Thursday December 1, 2011
Gates 104

Interference Centric Wireless Networks

Sachin Katti
Stanford University

About the talk:
Traditionally, interference is considered harmful. Wireless networks strive hard to avoid scheduling multiple transmissions at the same time in order to prevent interference. Almost every aspect of wireless network design, from point-to-point links to medium access protocols to cross-network coexistence is based on this fear of interference. In this talk I will argue that such an approach cannot scale to meet the traffic demands on future networks. Since available spectrum is finite, any approach predicated on avoiding interference is fundamentally constrained. Consequently we adopt the opposite approach; instead of avoiding interference, we advocate an approach which systematically understands the nature of interference, and often strategically exploits interference. I will discuss how this fundamental rethink can be applied to all the contexts in which interference occurs in wireless networks to significantly improve capacity and robustness.

About the speaker:
Sachin Katti is currently an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Stanford University. He received his PhD in EECS from MIT in 2009. His research focuses on designing and building next generation high capacity wireless networks using techniques from information and coding theory. His dissertation research focused on redesigning wireless mesh networks with network coding as the central unifying design paradigm. The dissertation won the 2008 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award - Honorable Mention, the George Sprowls Award for Best Doctoral Dissertation in EECS at MIT. His work on network coding was also awarded a MIT Deshpande Center Innovation Grant, and won the 2009 William Bennett Prize for Best Paper in IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. He has also won the Okawa Foundation Fellowship, a Best Demonstration Award at Mobicom 2010, Best paper award at ACM Homenets 2011 as well as Hooover, Packard and Terman Faaculy Fellowships.